In 2018, Oklahoma voters approved State Question 788 and made medical marijuana legal in the state. Still, in order to gain the benefits of medical marijuana, residents must possess a Medical Marijuana License. It’s not enough to have a medical condition – you have to go through the process of applying for a license and receiving approval before you can legally possess marijuana, although additional laws intended to decriminalize minor usage have reduced the penalties for being caught with a small amount of marijuana.
Just a little more than a year after the state voted to legalize medical marijuana, over 1,700 licensed dispensaries have so far popped up across the state, improving access for patients in need. However, you cannot legally obtain medical marijuana without a license of your own. How do you obtain a medical marijuana license and what are the limits on possessing medical marijuana? Here’s what you need to know.
Before you can even start the approval process for your Medical Marijuana License, you need a recommendation from a state-licensed physician. Although any physician licensed in the state of Oklahoma is qualified to make such a recommendation, you’ll find that the process is made easier when you choose the right physician.
What does this mean? Surely you want to speak with your trusted physician about this important topic to decide if medical marijuana is right for you. What you may discover, though, is that some physicians are not particularly keen to talk about the possibility of this treatment option, as marijuana is still illegal at the federal level. Some doctors may feel that further testing needs to be done before they’re willing to prescribe it to patients.
In addition, you may want to seek out a physician that has already registered with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). Physicians that aren’t registered are not precluded from recommending patients for medical marijuana, but the process of gaining approval may be expedited and go more smoothly when they are. To find a suitable physician, check out this list provided by OMMA.
In order to obtain a physician recommendation for medical marijuana, you’ll need to schedule a visit to discuss your symptoms and find out if you’re a good candidate. Many chronic conditions, diseases, and symptoms could qualify for this treatment, and luckily, the state of Oklahoma leaves this aspect open to interpretation.
Essentially, physicians have the power to treat it like any other prescription. If they feel it is a suitable treatment option for a patient, they can recommend it at their discretion. To make things easier, consider bringing a copy of the OMMA Physician Recommendation Form for your doctor to fill out on your behalf.
In addition, several documents will be required, including:
During the application process, you must also submit a non-refundable application fee of $100, good for a 2-year license. If you are able to provide proof of Medicare/Medicaid, your application fee is only $20. Payment can be made with Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit cards, or with a debit card. The application process begins when you set up an account. You’ll find all the information you need to get started in this OMMA Application Checklist .
You must be over the age of 18 to apply, although minors may gain access to a Medical Marijuana License if they meet specific criteria, such as having the recommendation of two physicians (pediatricians or pediatric subspecialists), signatures of each parent or legal guardian, and other considerations.
Obtaining Medical Marijuana
If you meet all criteria and you are approved for a Medical Marijuana License, your card should be mailed within 14 days and it will be valid for two years, unless subsequently revoked by OMMA. The next step is understanding what that means in terms of purchasing and possessing cannabis. You can start by perusing the OMMA List of Dispensaries to find the most convenient licensed location near you. As noted above, there are currently hundreds to choose from, and with your Medical Marijuana License, you can visit any of them to legally purchase cannabis.
While dispensaries are no doubt aware of restrictions on the amount of medical marijuana you’re allowed to have, it’s in your best interest to know the rules yourself so you can maintain compliance. With a Medical Marijuana License, you’ll legally allowed to possess up to:
What if you’re unable to obtain a Medical Marijuana License or your license is revoked for some reason? Unfortunately, recreational cannabis remains illegal in Oklahoma, so if you’re caught in possession of any amount, you could face penalties. That said, Oklahoma is working toward decriminalizing marijuana for personal use.
If you are convicted of misdemeanor possession of marijuana, you could face penalties that include fines of up to $1,000 and/or no more than one year in jail. However, as part of the passage of State Question 788, anyone in possession of 1.5 ounces or less of medical marijuana (without a Medical Marijuana License) may only be fined up to $400 maximum, and will receive no jail time. In addition, CBD oil that contains less than 0.03% THC can legally be used for medical trials or shipped to patients with authorization from a licensed Oklahoma physician, so that may be a viable option.